Thursday, July 7, 2011

Grant Black (2011) -Babylon [EP]

Artist: Grant Black
Album: Babylon [EP]
Released: 2011
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 61 MB

Addison County musician Josh Brooks is known for an Americana/folk-rock sound that he explored on works such as his 2006 EP “The White House Sessions,” but on this project with drummer and father-in-law Kent Blackmer he’s angling toward something rowdier, with a crunching Texas-blues-rock beat. Brooks displays a rugged growl on tracks such as “Hey Mama” (exploring the universal blues-rock theme of lust) and “Money” (exploring the universal blues-rock theme of poverty) which like all the tracks on this six-song effort break no new ground. Still, Grant Black’s debut is a mini-album that propels forward on high-testosterone energy and uncluttered but punchy production by Brooks and Chris Clark. by Bert Hallenbeck

1. Babylon 4:55
2. Black Widow 3:59
3. Hey Mama 4:46
4. True Love 4:34
5. Money 3:51
6. I'll Wait 4:38
7. Last Recorded Moments From Big Orange 0:53


1 comment: