Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Charlie Haden Quartet West (2010) -Sophisticated Ladies

Artist: Charlie Haden
Albums: Sophisticated Ladies
Released: 2010
Quality: FLAC
Size: 373 MB

One of the finest double bassists in jazz Charlie Haden says more with a few finely chosen notes than many lesser musicians try and say with a hundred. His warm bass tone is the core element of his stunning Quartet West whose smoky, atmospheric approach to jazz has won them critical acclaim for over twenty years with pianist Alan Broadbent casting a harmonic spell from which phenomenal saxophonist Ernie Watts can take flight, while Laurence Marable’s subtle drumming is perfectly in synch with Haden’s hypnotic bass work.

Returning with a new album Sophisticated Ladies, that’s inspired by and dedicated to their mutual love of the some of jazz’s most celebrated female singers, French jazz expert Jean-Phillipe Allard writes about this spellbinding new project from one of jazz’s most consistent and compelling artists:

“I had the occasion to meet up with Charlie Haden in New York in July 2009. As I’ve been working in publishing, I hadn’t worked with him in almost ten years and had rarely seen or spoken to him during all that time. After hugs and small talk, he asked me if I’d like to work with him again on the production of two projects: a duet with Hank Jones and a new Quartet West recording. Those ten years just dissolved and it felt as though yesterday was the last time we’d spoken. Feeling honoured and very excited at the thought of working once again with Charlie and the Quartet. I heard myself say: “yes”!

After a couple of long-distance brain-storming phone sessions we decided to do a sequel to the Quartet West album “The Art of the Song” which had featured the late Shirley Horn and the unique Bill Henderson. In this case we wanted to feature our favourite contemporary jazz singers (I myself am passionate about jazz singers!) and the concept of “Sophisticated Ladies” was born. The dream became reality when all the singers enthusiastically agreed to appear on the album.” - Jean-Philippe Allard

1 If I'm Lucky 5:41 Vocals - Melody Gardot
2 Sophisticated Lady 4:28
3 All Wind 4:25 Vocals - Norah Jones
4 Today I Am A Man 5:23
5 My Love And I 4:14 Vocals - Cassandra Wilson
6 Theme From "Markham" 4:40
7 Let's Call It A Day 5:52 Vocals - Ruth Cameron
8 Angel Face 4:08
9 A Love Like This 5:13 Vocals - Renée Fleming
10 My Old Flame 5:35
11 Goodbye 5:48 Vocals - Diana Krall
12 Wahoo 4:52

Double Bass, Arranged By [Quartet], Producer - Charlie Haden
Drums - Rodney Green
Piano, Arranged By [String Orchestra], Conductor [String Orchestra] - Alan Broadbent
Tenor Saxophone - Ernie Watts

Recorded on May 20 & 21, at Capitol Studios, studio B, Hollywood, CA, USA
Recorded on June 4th 2010 at Avatar Studios, New York, NY, USA
Additional Recording on July 12 & 26, 2010 at Avatar Studios, New York, NY, USA
Mastered at Precision Mastering in Hollywood, California

(P)&(C) 2010 Universal Music Group International BV

Web Site


1 comment: