Saturday, March 12, 2011

The Giljoteens - two albums

Artist: The Giljoteens
Album: Get A Head / Out Of Our Hands
Released: 2004 / 2007
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 87 + 57 MB

Sixties garage beat/punk is probably the best stuff ever produced. In the sixties rock'n'roll broke free from the 12 bar format. Riffs, bridges, big choruses etc was introduced for the first time. Everything after the sixties has been tagged and labelled to death, but back then it was just Rock'n'Roll! THE GILJOTEENS understand this better than most. Today when new music sounds dated almost the same second you hear it, it's refreshing to find that there are bands out go right to the roots for their influences. THE GILJOTEENS play garage punk, but they aren't simply a nostalgic retro act. Because where many bands like this are only about reproducing a sound and rely on covers from compilations like "Back From The Grave", THE GILJOTEENS also add the most important piece of them all - talent and a knack for writing killer originals! The melodic yet raw vocals, perfect in yer face attack of the drums, reverbed and sometimes fuzzed out twang of the guitar, the rolling bass and the great atmospheric farfisa organ all combine together to a great and original listening experience. Many sixties nuts often ask themselves "Why should I bother listening to a new garage band when there's so much good original stuff?" In the case of THE GILJOTEENS the answer is simple: Because it's fucking great!

Album: Get A Head
Released: 2004
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 87 MB

1. get a head
2. down and out
3. goodbye
4. things been bad
5. leaving here
6. empty soul
7. you'll miss me
8. when the day breaks
9. purple clouds
10. you can't change me
11. rain keeps falling
12. one track mind
13. point of no return


Album: Out Of Our Hands
Released: 2007
Quality: mp3 CBR 320 (vinyl rip)
Size: 57 MB

1. I'll Be Good To You
2. Things I've Done
3. Fooled
4. Far Above
5. Before My Eyes
6. There's No Turning Back
7. I've Gotta Go
8. Let Me In
9. I'm Gone
10. Out Of Our Hands
11. I See Through You



1 comment: