Friday, March 25, 2011

Flat Duo Jets (1998) -Lucky Eye

Artist: Flat Duo Jets
Album: Lucky Eye
Released: 1998
Quality: mp3 CBR 192
Size: 63 MB

After spending the prior 15 years recording lo-fi roots-rock albums, Flat Duo Jets were finally taken into a modern recording studio for 1998's LUCKY EYE. Produced by Scott Litt of R.E.M. fame and Chris Stamey of the db's, the Jets' major-label debut found the band's sound enhanced rather than subverted by the use of updated recording technology. The duo (Dexter Romweber and Crow) not only churned out traditional rockabilly ("Blues Wrapped Around My Head") and rollicking instrumental surf music ("Ludwiggin," "Virginia Surf") but ragtime-soaked songs of titles normal ("Hot Rod Baby") and absurd ("Sharks Flying In").
Throughout, Romweber's delivery bounces between a grating rasp ("String Along") and a romantic rumble ("Go This Way"). His cackling intro preceding the noirish instrumental "Creeping Invention" even brings to mind Screamin' Jay Hawkins. Crow's sole vocal performance is a pleasantly honeyed reading of the countrified "Little M." By far, the most inspirational contributions come from master cellist Suzie Katayama, whose gorgeous string arrangements take LUCKY EYE to another level, particularly on the instrumental "New York Studio 1959," a sweeping number reminiscent of Nelson Riddles' work. These orchestrations allow Romweber to play both the dashing crooner (the tango-influenced "Go This Way") and the beautiful loser ("Lonely Guy").

1 Lucky Eye
2 String Along
3 Go This Way
4 Virginia Surf
5 Dark Night
6 Lonley Guy
7 Creepin' Invention
8 Hustle 'N' Bustle
9 Blues Wrapped Around My Head
10 Hot Rod Baby
11 New York Studio
12 Sharks Flying In
13 Boogie Boogie
14 Love Is All Around
15 Ludwiggin'
16 Rockin' Mode
17 California Luau
18 Little M

Flat Duo Jets’ MySpace
Dexter Romwebwer’s MySpace

1 comment: