Tuesday, December 21, 2010

R. L. Burnside (1997) -Acoustic Stories

Artist: R. L. Burnside
Albums: Acoustic Stories
Released: 1997 (originally released in 1988)
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 81 MB

R. L. Burnside is notorious for his gritty, greasy Delta blues, as each of his records since his 1991 discovery have been blistering electric recordings. That's what makes Acoustic Stories so refreshing. Recorded at New York City in 1988 with harp player John Neremberg, the album balances originals with a handful of well-selected covers, including three John Lee Hooker tunes: "When My First Wife Left Me," "Hobo Blues" and "Meet Me in the Bottom." Burnside is more exciting when he's electric, but these are unexpectedly haunting recordings that prove he's not just about rocking the joint. ~ Thom Owens, allmusic

1 When My First Wife Left Me 3:39
2 Death Bell Blues 2:53
3 Skinny Woman 2:12
4 Monkey In The Pool Room 2:55
5 Hobo Blues 3:32
6 Walking Blues 3:15
7 Long Haired Doney 3:09
8 Poor Black Mattie 3:55
9 Meet Me In The Bottom 2:14
10 Miss Glory B 3:07
11 Kindhearted Woman Blues 3:40

Artwork By - Ephraim Urevbu
Executive Producer - Catherine Carpentieri , Mark Carpentieri
Guitar, Vocals - R.L. Burnside
Harmonica - John Neremberg (tracks: 1, 2, 5 to 8)
Photography - Deborah Raven
Producer, Liner Notes - Lou Erlanger

Recorded at Microsound Studios, New York City, February 1988.
Originally released on cassette in 1989 by Lollypop Tapes.



  1. nobody wants to see all the ad trash. we want MUSIC !!! re-up links. ALL INOP. WTFF?????