Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Francy Boland (1976) -Blue Flame / Red Hot / White Heat

Artist: Francy Boland
Album: Blue Flame / Red Hot / White Heat
Released: 2008 (originally released in 1976 as 3 separate albums)
Label: MPS Records
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 261 MB

François Boland (6 November 1929 in Namur Belgium – 12 August 2005 in Geneva) was a classically trained Belgian jazz composer and pianist.
He first gained notice in 1949 and worked with Belgian jazz greats like Bobby Jaspar, and in 1955 he joined Chet Baker's quintet. Moving to the US, he began arranging for Count Basie, Benny Goodman, Woody Herman and Dizzy Gillespie, and set up an octet with drummer Kenny Clarke before returning to Europe and becoming Kurt Edelhagen's chief arranger. In 1961, based around a rhythm section featuring Clarke, Jimmy Woode and himself, he founded The Kenny Clarke-Francy Boland Big Band, which rapidly became one of the most noted Big Bands assembled outside the United States. After it broke up in 1972 he concentrated on composing.
He lived in Europe, primarily Switzerland, from 1976 and did musical arrangements for Sarah Vaughan among others. He was also part of One World, One Peace, an effort involving Pope John Paul II. He died in 2005.
more info

CD 1:
1 All the Things You Are 7:19
2 Clair Obscure 5:58
3 Dancing in the Dark Dietz, 6:09
4 Cross Fire 6:06
5 Autumn in New York 5:57
6 Yesterdays 5:32
7 Close Your Eyes 5:40
8 Hopeless 5:58
9 The Son of Sax No End 6:19

CD 2:
1 Off the Top of My Head 5:37
2 Stella by Starlight Washington, 6:03
3 The Song Is You Hammerstein, 5:45
4 Daffodils 5:25
5 Everything I Have Is Yours 9:15
6 As Long as There Is Music 4:40
7 Nargileh 6:25
8 East of the Sun and West of the Moon 6:59
9 A Gal in Calico 5:29



  1. Good afternoon!

    The huge request to you.
    Restore, please, this remarkable album.
    It is thankful in advance!

    With the best regards,
    Alexander from Russia