Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Various Artists (2009) -Shadow Music of Thailand

Artist: various
Album: Shadow Music of Thailand
Released: 2009
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 97 MB

”SHADOW MUSIC was a broad term given to the Thai guitar pop movement of the 1960s and the groups that came out of it, all under the profound influence of early Western rock and roll. British instrumental wonders The Shadows (as in Cliff Richards & the Shadows) were the origin of the genre's title, also coined 'Wong Shadow' or early Thai 'String' music. Shadow records were often marketed as 'Thai Modernized Music' which it was in the truest sense. Traditional Thai melodies were given the Shadow treatment; incorporating rock, surf, a-go-go, exotica, soul, blues, Latin and other worldly styles of the times. Inventive compositions and instrumental genius meet the occasional odd vocal arrangement and the results range from plaintive guitar and organ-driven lullabies to full-blown electric garage folk-psychedelia! Featured on this collection are a handful of the leading recorded artists from the time; P.M. Pocket Music, The Son of P.M., P.M.7, Jupiter and Johnny Guitar. Throughout the 1960s, these groups forged a unique and highly self-referential Thai sound.” ~ Sublime Frequencies

A1 Son Of P.M., The – Luk Tung Klong Yao 2:50
A2 P.M. Pocket Music – Kack Toi Mor 2:35
A3 Son Of P.M., The – Koisun Ching 2:20
A4 P.M. Pocket Music – Pama Rum Kwan 3:15
A5 Johnny Guitar – Mon Du Dow 3:10
A6 Son Of P.M., The – Klong Yao 2:15
A7 Son Of P.M., The – Taloong Jun Loum 2:55
A8 P.M. 7/Jupiter – Susie Wong 1:55
B1 P.M. 7/Jupiter – Pone Tala Pone (Indian) 2:05
B2 Son Of P.M., The – Lhow Lenum 2:45
B3 Son Of P.M., The – Cho Cho Chan 2:30
B4 P.M. 7/Jupiter – Sawan Bangkok 2:35
B5 Johnny Guitar – Lao Kratob Mai 3:10
B6 Son Of P.M., The – Plaeng Yiepoun 2:20
B7 Son Of P.M., The – Lum Jow Praya 2:50
B8 P.M. 7/Jupiter – Pone Tala Pone (Twee Sak) 2:45
B9 Johnny Guitar – Bangkok By Night 2:35

Accordion – Choompoll Srinual (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8)
Bass Guitar – Mongkol Moungvirote (tracks: A5, B5, B9), Udom Keaniam (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8)
Composed By, Arranged By, Organ [Electric] – Noparatana Tipayasot (tracks: A5, B5, B9)
Drums – Anun Amaranont (tracks: A5, B5, B9), Don Downvadeung (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8), Krungdhon Kumpleamchit (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8), Veera Rongprasert (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8)
Engineer [Audio Restoration], Mastered By [Pre-mastering], Research [Research Assistant] – Peter Conheim
Lead Guitar – Prasert Sangkla (tracks: A5, B5, B9), Subin Muangchuang (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8), Vorapote Ruannark (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8)
Leader – Prasit Chamnanprai (tracks: A8, B1, B4, B8)
Liner Notes – MG*
Liner Notes [Translation Assistance] – Phattharaphong Burirak
Organ [Electric] – Kabuan Mukda (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8)
Research [Additional], Liner Notes [Translations] – Thai Guy
Research, Compiled By, Layout, Design – Mark Gergis
Rhythm Guitar – Kua Phan Ngarm (tracks: A5, B5, B9)
Xylophone – Sothorn Suthom (tracks: A1 to A4, A6 to B4, B6 to B8)

All tracks recorded during the mid-1960's in Bangkok, Thailand.

1 comment: