Monday, September 19, 2011

Hipbone Slim & The Kneetremblers (2011) -Square Guitar

Artist: Hipbone Slim & Knee Tremblers
Album: Square Guitar
Release date: October 2011
Quality: mp3 CBR 160
Size: 66 MB

”Hipbone Slim and the Kneetremblers take rock’n’roll, rhythm’n’blues – whatever you want to call it – and give it their own unique stamp and energy. They have somehow captured the true essence of rock’n’roll in a way that very few have been able to do in a very long time. Their new album Square Guitar is the finest offering so far.

The band is led by the ubiquitous Sir Bald Diddley, on guitar and lead vocals, a man who has been described as “Britain’s string king” in reference to his wild and fiery guitar style, influenced by Bo Diddley, Link Wray, Chuck Berry, Dick Dale and the like, and “Ricky Nelson gone very wrong” (with regards to his singing!). Also known for his very precarious stage antics, including the infamous “Pea Bug” which involves much rolling around on the floor during guitar solos! He is currently also working on a new band project with former members of Supergrass and Thee Headcoats (see Dirty Water Records release DWC1054).

Hipbone Slim and the Kneetremblers have four albums released on Voodoo Rhythm Records, receiving great critical acclaim and all considerable radio airplay, and have also recently released a joint album with Swiss Cajun kings, Mama Rosin. Mark Lamarr regularly plays their music and has also featured the band live in session. Never short of new ideas, the band have three more albums on the way, and play a set of nearly entirely original compositions. Their recordings have regularly been described as “scarily authentic” and live shows “totally out there”! They are ce rtainly very raucous and entertaining occasions . . . The band have toured extensively throughout Europe, with more dates across the continent over the coming year.”
~ © Dirty Water Records

1. Square Guitar
2. Hidin’ To Nothin’
3. Warpath
4. Bull Moose
5. Birdman
6. Bald Tyre
7. Brand New Hat
8. Snake Dancer
9. Lightnin’ Strakes
10. Bottom Of My Heart
11. Half Crazed Daddy
12. One Eyed Monkey
13. Why Ain’t Bo On My TV
14. King Of The Rocket Men
15. Hold On Here I Come
16. Nothin’ Means Nothin’ No More
17. For You
18. Monkey On My Back

Web Site

Buy CD