Monday, June 6, 2011

Various Artists (2008) -African Scream Contest

Artist: various
Albums: African Scream Contest: Raw & Psychedelic Afro Sounds from Benin & Togo 70s
Release date: 2008
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 169 MB

African Scream Contest easily joins the ranks of the most essential African funk compilations, partly by covering ground no one else has walked on, but mostly just for relentlessly kicking ass for over an hour. This is some of the best funk ever recorded anywhere, and it ranges from quick blasts of hyperspeed groove like Le Super Borgou de Parakou's "Congolaise Benin Ye" to the ruminative Fela-style Afrobeat of Vincent Ahehehinnou and Les Volcans' spicy Afro-Cuban workout. Whether you've been hunting down El Rego 45s on eBay for years or just heard and loved your first Fela reissue, this disc is emphatically for you. ~ Joe Tangari, June 17, 2008

1.Lokonon André & Les Volcans - Mi kple Dogbekpo
2.Picoby Band D´Abomey - Mi Ma Kpe Dji
3.Gabo Brown & Orchestre Poly-Rythmo - It´s a Vanity
4.El Rego et ses commandos - Se Na Min
5.Napo de Mi Amor Et Ses Black Devil´s - Leki Santchi
6.Orchestre Poly-Rythmo - Gbeti Madjro
7.Roger Damawuzan - Wait For Me
8.Ouinsou Corneille & Black Santiagos - Vinon so Minsou
9.Orchestre Super Jheevs des Paillotes - Ye Nan Lon An
10.Tidiani Kone - Djanfi Magni
11.Discafric Band - Houiou Djin Nan Zon Aklumon
12.Le Super Borgou de Parakou - Congolaise Benin Ye
13.Vincent Ahehehinnou - Ou c´est Lui Ou C´est Moi
14.Les Volcans de la Capital - Oya Ka Jojo