Sunday, February 24, 2013

Red Cosmos (2012) -There and Back


Artist:  Red Cosmos
Albums: There and Back
Release date:  2012
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size:  157 MB

“Released a month or so ago, this is an album that is overflowing with ideas and originality mixing as it does folk with pastoral psychedelia, sound samples, ambient electronics, and hazy, woozy vocals. Throughout, the record is underpinned with a nonchalant humour and sly insouciance including one song inspired by holier-than-thou TV presenter Philip Schofield’s inherent insincerity (Do Geese See God?).
Songs switch from tripped out to tripped up to just plain trippy, creating the kind of feel that you get with a Tim Burton inspired nightmarish nursery rhyme. Take England’s Glory, the tale of a mother visited in the middle of the night by the pale spectre of her son dying alone, somewhere far away on a battlefield. Elsewhere, it calls to mind such psychedelic greats as Syd Barrett as well as more contemporary MM faves such as Damon Moon, Mathew Sawyer and Benjamin Shaw.
The album has the kind of wilful, single-mindedness and surreal vision that so many strive for and yet fail to achieve, and which is so essential in creating a unique voice. By the end of the record, we are left with the suspicion Red Cosmos might be the kind of band to drown fish just for the perverse pleasure of seeing if they can.”
~ ©

1.             St Albans Colour Explosion  05:26                               
                2.            Cross Your Heart And Hope To Die  04:49                
                3.            You Said You Loved Me  04:59                    
                4.            I Am The Local DJ  04:15                              
                5.            England's Glory  05:35                     
                6.            Staring Downwards  06:04                              
                7.            Do Geese See God?  03:22                              
                8.            The Song Has Changed  05:46                      
                9.            Iron Rush  04:55                               
                10.          I Decided To Love You  04:10                      
                11.          Parting Shot  04:48                           
                12.          Nothing Is Happening  06:00                         
                13.          Mrs Jones  05:39