Monday, June 4, 2012

The Cubical (2011) -It Ain't Human

Artist: The Cubical
Album: It Ain’t Human
Released: 2011
Quality: mp3 CBR 320
Size: 133 MB

”The Cubical's gritty, growly swamp blues has already earned some attention in circles where people place a premium on gritty, growly swamp blues. It really is quite a striking sound, and certainly if you're a fan of gruff, grumbling vocals a la Tom Waits and Captain Beefheart, and you like your rock'n'roll primal and pounding, then you will definitely go a bundle on this lot. They're vaguely in that blues-rock ballpark occupied by fellow Scousers the Coral and the Zutons, only straighter and less psychedelic, like the original punks on the legendary Nuggets compilation. Dan Wilson, the son of an army sergeant and a performer prone to "stalking the stage like a malevolent tramp begging for the crowd's attention as if asking for change and a spare ciggy" according to one innocent bystander, has a voice that fits perfectly in this setting, and its only drawback is its distinctiveness – the low, menacing way in which he chooses to grumble and roar is so obviously reminiscent of Waits/Don Van Vliet it can often sound as much like an affectionate homage as a straight pastiche.” ~ read the full review by Paul Lester, The Guardian

1. Dirty Shame 3:49
2. Rag Time Army 4:02
3. Are We Just Lovers 3:43
4. Walking Around Like Jesus 4:29
5. Falling Down 5:09
6. Worry 2:30
7. An Ode To Franz Biberkopf 3:58
8. Something New 3:33
9. Paper Walls 4:27
10. Three Drop Jameson Mechanism 4:10
11. The Myth Of Willie Mc Grath 7:28
12. Blue Blue Sky (bonus)



1 comment: